5 Comments
May 11, 2023·edited May 11, 2023Liked by DSD-Guide

Well... I'm a relatively new on this Digital "audiophile" thing, but I run my own studio for a few years now... I also use Windows 11 and I'm even a Microsoft evaluator for their OS, I currently have a simple DAC/Amp from Fiio and it works fine... But one thing is true, Microsoft is doing loads of crap with the Win 11 on their imposition of their legacy (generic) drivers that alwasy take over the proprietary drivers for audio equipment, and that is a huge mistake and very annoying for the professional users on the music industry... They are trying to make win 11 for "dummies" and for that they even are blocking the access to loads of previous accessible functions of the windows operative system... Even a normal "older" sound card have problems simply because windows 11 wont allow to use it on more than 16Bits/44.1Khz. Once again the Microsoft "genius" are making it worst, simply because they don't listen to their users and always behave like if they knew better... Unless the brands start updating their proprietary drivers for Win 11, Microsoft will not do anything to solve the problem, like they didn't when it was the Win 10 update that was even worst on the beginning and erased any non Windows old drivers from the system without the authorisation from the users, like it happen to me after the update and I found out already on a Festival I was invited to play, (luckily I had all my music software and drivers on a backup and could install them before the show...).

You are right... Windows 11 is still to crappy to trust it with music work... And I don' even know if they will ever fix it's problems...

Expand full comment

I am Stefan Badulescu from Israel

I have been a fan of hi-res music for several years.I have 3 DAC's(Audiolab,Chord.Cyrus) and after switching to Windows 11 everything works perfectly.I installed drivers for each one and everything works fine.I uze the JRiver for playng.I also have a lot of music on DSD.Everything works without problems.I have a self made AMD computer.

I don't understand what you are talking about.

Expand full comment